Saturday, 18 March 2017

Maruts - Sons of Rudras Or Rudras Or Shiva ? By Abir Maheshwari

As I was going through 33 deities mentioned in Vedic Scripts, Thought of sharing some information on Rudras.

As The Marutas also known as the Marutagana and sometimes identified with Rudras. Vedic scripts, Ramayana, Mahabharata, Vishnu Purana, Bhagvat Gita, Mtsya Purana etc., has mentioned Rudras in different names and on different situation but I thought before describing all rudras lets us first share the names with sources. In post-Vedic literature like the epics and Puranas, Maruts were associated with Indra, while Rudras gained their former status as followers of Rudra, who had evolved into Shiva.

Vishnu Purana (From Male) :-

Manyu, Manu, Mahmasa, Mahan, Siva, Rtudhvaja, Ugraretas, Bhava, Kama, Vamadeva, Dhrtavrata.

Vishnu Purana (From Female) :-

Dhi, Vrtti, Usana, Urna, Niyuta, Sarpis, Ila, Ambika, Iravatl, Sudha, Diksa.

Mahabharata :- 

Mrgavadha, Sarpa, Nirriti, Ajaikapad, Ahi, Budhnya, Pinakin, Dahana, Ishvara, Kapali, Sthanu, Bhaga.

Bhagvad Gita :- 

Vishvarupa, Ajaikapad, Ahi Budhnya, Virupaksa, Raivata, Hara, Bahurupa, Tryambaka, Savitra, Jayanta, Pinakin.

Mtsya Purana :-

Kapali, Pingala, Bhima, Virupaksa, Vilohita, Ajesha, Shasana, Shasta, Shambhu, Chanda, Dhruva.

Ramayana :- 

Nirriti, Shambhu, Aparajita, Mrigavyadha, Kapardi, Dahana, Khara, Ahirabradhya, Kapali, Pingala, Senani.

Vedic Scripts :-

Ānanda, Vijñāna, Manas, Prāṇa, Vāc, Īśāna, Tatpuruṣa, Aghora, Vāmadeva, Sadyojāta, Ātmā.

In Vedic mythology, Rudras are described as loyal companions of Rudra, who later was identified with Shiva. They are considered as friends, messengers and aspects of Rudra. They are fearful in nature. The Satapatha Brahmana mentions that Rudra is the prince, while Rudras are his subjects. They are considered as attendants of Shiva in later mythology. the eleven Rudras are represented by ten vital energies (rudra-prana) in the body and the eleventh one being the Ātman (the soul).

The five organs of action and the mind (Other Puranas):-

Aja, Ekapada (Ekapat), Ahirbudhnya, Tvasta, Rudra, Hara, Sambhu, Tryambaka, Aparajita, Isana and Tribhuvana.

In the Marut Suktas (RV 1, 2, 5, 8) and Indra-Suktas (RV 1, 3, 8, 10) of the Rigveda (RV), the epithet "Rudras" – originating from the verb root rud or ru and meaning howlers, roarers or shouters – is used numerous times for the Maruts – identifying them with the Rudras even when associated with Indra, rather than Rudra.

There are some hymns in the Rigveda (RV 2, 7, 8, 10) that explicitly distinguish between the Maruts and the Rudras. The Rudras are said to preside over the second stage of creation and the intermediary stage of life. They govern the second ritual of sacrifice, the mid-day offering and the second stage of life – from the 24th to the 68 year of life.

Shiva is linked to the Sun (śivan, "the Red one", in Tamil) and that Rudra is also called Babhru (brown, or red) in the Rigveda.

As no one can really understand Hindu Gods but only can feel them within by Pure Hearts.

Next posts will try to understand Hindu Deity Rudra in details.

- Abir Maheshwari